Maryland
Wear &
Carry (CCW)

Maryland
Wear &
Carry (CCW)



Maryland Wear & Carry (CCW)

$495.00

Enroll

Required Expirience / Education:

  • no prerequisites required


The Maryland CCW Class, also known as the Maryland Wear & Carry Permit Class is a State Mandated 16 Hour class taught by a Maryland Certified Qualified Handgun Instructor on handgun operation, safe storage, proper technique, concealment, Maryland law, and more. Students are required to complete 16 hours of training including a short qualifying course on fire with a handgun.

This Maryland Wear and Carry class covers the training requirements of your HQL as well! Just let your fingerprinting service know you are utilizing the service for both CCW and HQL (for no additional charge).

As of 07/05/2022 Gov. Larry Hogan has directed the Maryland State Police to remove the “Good & Substantial Reason” requirement.

In response, the Maryland State Police Issued this advisory

The Maryland State Police Licensing Division is in the process of updating the Licensing Portal to reflect these changes. Until these updates are complete, applicants submitting a Wear and Carry Permit application are directed to select “Personal Protection / Category Not Listed Above” as their “Handgun Permit Category”. Applicants are not required to attach documents to the “PERSONAL PROTECTION DOCUMENTATION” section on the “Upload Documents” page of the Wear and Carry Permit application.

The suspension of the “Good and Substantial Reason” requirement does not change any other aspect of the MD Wear and Carry Permit. Applicants are still required to submit documentation of the required training and a Livescan fingerprint receipt. Additional documentation such as military service records or other documentation as requested may still be required to complete an applicant background investigation.​

A WEAR AND CARRY (HANDGUN) PERMIT IS STILL REQUIRED BEFORE YOU CAN LEGALLY CARRY A REGULATED FIREARM ON YOUR PERSON.